Affordable, high-quality, cultural and music programs in San Francisco; classical music, chamber music, opera, broadway, piano, jazz, theater

An evening of works by Astor Piazzolla with pianist Julieta Iglesias

Date & Time: Saturday March 19, 2022 at 7:30  p.m.
Venue: Incarnation Episcopal Church, 1750 29th Avenue, San Francisco
Tickets: $25 General, $20 Seniors/Students

Eventbrite Ticketing: Buy online


A program of works by Astor Piazzolla.

  1. Invierno Porteño
  2. Otoño Porteño
  3. Verano Porteño
  4. Primavera Porteña
  5. Milonga del Angel
  6. La Muerte del Angel
  7. Resurreccion del Angel
  8. Chau París
  9. Juanito Laguna ayuda a su madre
  10. Calambre
  11. Decarisimo
  12. Los pájaros perdidos
  13. Pigmalión
  14. Jacinto Chiclana
  15. Retrato de Alfredo Gobbi
  16. El gordo triste
  17. Chris-talin
  18. Chiquilín de Bachín Adiós Nonino + Cadenza (by Pablo Estigarribia)


In accordance with health and safety guidelines from the City and County of San Francisco, a face covering is required for all concerts at Incarnation Episcopal church and must be worn at all times. Face masks must completely cover nose and mouth and have ear loops or similar to hold in place. Gaiters and bandanas are not acceptable. Please click here for full details.

About the Artist

Julieta Iglesias was born in 1985 in Buenos Aires. She started her piano studies in 1995 at the “Alberto Williams” Conservatoire. In 2001 she received the ‘Lía Cimaglia Espinosa’ scholarship and the Santa Cecilia Medal. Since then, she has been performing in important halls in Argentina, Spain, Germany, France, Holland, U.K., Poland, Italy, Sweden, Belgium, Ireland and Hungary. Julieta graduated from the ‘Instituto Universitario Nacional del Arte’ where she studied under the guidance of Professor Aldo Antognazzi. She also taught Piano for two years at the same institution. In 2017 she got a Bachelor of Musical Education from ‘Conservatorio Superior de Musica de la Ciudad de Bs. As. Astor Piazzolla’.

Julieta Iglesias has attended courses and masterclasses with Maestros such as Mario Videla, Nelson Goerner, Haydeé Schvartz, Jack Winnerock, Elmma Miranda, Michele Campanella, Diane Andersen, Adrián Kreda, among others.

In 2005, Julieta won a Mention at the Piano Competition of the Northlands Institute and in 2007 she performed with the Vicente Lopez Orchestra conducted by Maestro Oscar Castro.

Two years later, she was invited to participate in the ‘1st National Festival of Pianists’ in Mar del Plata, Argentina. In that opportunity, she performed at Colon Theatre and gave piano and chamber music masterclasses at the ‘Luis Gianneo Conservatoire’.

Julieta has been working with many contemporary composers. In 2010, she gave the Première of the piano works by Mauro de María and also released Volume 1 of de María’s music, to critical acclaim, and in 2012 she gave the Premiere of Vol. II.

One year later, she attended courses with Maestro Alberto Portugheis in London and Colombes (France), where she also performed with the London Tango Orchestra in Fleet, and as a soloist pianist in London, Madrid and Barcelona.

In 2014 Julieta embarked on a tour around Europe, supported by the Argentine Government, releasing her first album with classical musical and tango. After that, she was invited to participate in the ’15 th Festival Por los caminos del vino’ in Mendoza, Argentina. In her last tour, in 2016, Julieta pomoted her new album: ‘Obras para piano: Bach, Chopin, Ravel, Guastavino, Golijov, Ginastera’.

Her first steps into composition were as an arranger. In 2018, Julieta recorded the album ‘Astor’ which is a tribute to the well-known tango composer, and performed it in Argentina and Europe during 2018/2019, with a pending tour in U.S., Canada and Mexico.

During 2020 she recorded two EP’s: ‘Piano in Quarantine’ and ‘My Homages’, and one album, ‘Londoner’. In 2021 she released ‘Simply Classical’ and her first classical fusion work, ‘Londres suena a Serú’, which contains piano arrangements on songs by a very popular Argentine band of the 80’s.

Julieta has been living in London for several years, and has focused her career into virtual and face to face performances, recordings, and collaborations with musicians from all over the world. Nowadays she’s working on another album tribute to Astor Piazzolla to celebrate the Centenary of his birth, recorded with musicians from London and Buenos Aires, which contains some of her arrangements for piano solo and two pianos.


Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: