Affordable, high-quality, cultural and music programs in San Francisco; classical music, chamber music, opera, broadway, piano, jazz, theater

Remembrances: A Musical Tribute


A chamber music concert featuring music of David Ryther, Samuel Barber, Philip Glass, and Antonin Dvořák.

The program includes Samuel Barber’s String Quartet No. 1, Op 11, whose second movement was made famous by its orchestral arrangement and called “Adagio for Strings.” In this program you hear it in its original form – intimate, delicate, intense, and harmonious layered, one instrument at a time. Hear this truly unique composition in an intimate setting.

Saturday January 16 at 7 p.m.

Venue: 1750 29th Avenue, San Francisco, CA
Tickets: $15 General / $12 Seniors & Students
Buy tickets online.
Tickets are also available at the door on the day, if the show is not sold out.

Read a review by Stephen Smoliar, San Francisco Examiner, Classical Music reporter.


David Ryther “Prayer” for Solo Violin (2015)
(Guest Artist Narain Darakananda, violin)

Samuel Barber String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op. 11

  1. Molto allegro e appassionato
  2. Molto adagio
  3. Molto allegro

Philip Glass String Quartet No. 5 (1991)

—- Intermission —-

Antonín Dvorák String Quartet No. 10 in E-flat Major (“Slavonic”)

  1. Allegro ma non troppo
  2. Dumka: Andante con moto – Vivace
  3. Romanza: Andante con moto
  4. Finale: Allegro assai
About the Artitsts

David Ryther and Sarah Wood, violins
Omid Assadi, viola
David Wishnia, cello

Bay Area based Circadian String Quartet was founded in 2013 to promote the classical and contemporary string quartet repertoire, in particular music of cultural and folkloric significance. Since then, the group has been featured through Mt. Shasta’s Music By the Mountain, Sunset Music | Arts Chamber Music Series in San Francisco, and the Merced Symphony Association. In 2014, the CSQ were invited to collaborate with the St. Petersburg-based Rimsky Korsakov String Quartet during their North American tour. They have also given U.S. premieres of pieces by world-renowned British composer Ian Venables in collaboration with mezzo-soprano Sally Munro of the San Francisco Opera and Natalie Parker, Principal Clarinetist of the San Francisco Ballet.

David Ryther (violin) has brought his interpretive powers as a soloist to such festivals as the Darmstadt Summer Festival of New Music, the Banff center, and the Green Umbrella Series at the Bing theater in Los Angeles. He has been featured playing new music with adventurous ensembles sfSoundGroup, Earplay, San Francisco Contemporary Players, the Berkeley New Music Ensemble, Sonor, and Octagon. He is a founding member of the Presidio String Quartet, a group that specializes in contemporary music. David graduated with highest honors in music from UC Santa Cruz and recently received his doctorate in contemporary violin performance from UC San Diego. David can also be found playing in the Berkeley Symphony, the San Francisco Ballet orchestra and teaching violin at the Crowden School for Music.

Sarah Wood (violin) leads a versatile career as a soloist, chamber and orchestral musician. She has soloed with the Music in the Mountains Summer Festival Orchestra and the Panache, Villa Sinfonia, and Icicle Creek Chamber Orchestras.  She has performed chamber music concerts across the Northwestern and Western United States.  Sarah is currently a member of the California Symphony and the Music in the Mountains Summer Festival Orchestras.  She earned her Doctor of Musical Arts in violin performance from the University of Colorado at Boulder and also holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s in violin performance from the Cleveland Institute of Music as a student of Paul Kantor and William Preucil.

Native of Iran, Omid Assadi (viola) holds a B.M. and M.M. from San Francisco Conservatory of Music where he studied with Jodie Levitz and Bettina Mussumeli. Mr. Assadi is an active ensemble player and soloist; he has concertized with many of the Bay Area’s orchestras and has appeared numerous times as soloist with Golden Gate Philharmonic, City College of San Francisco String Orchestra, Kensington Symphony Orchestra, and Villa Sinfonia. Omid’s love for chamber music has led him to study chamber music with the members of the Kronos String Quartet as well as the San Francisco Conservatory of Music faculty members. In addition, he has collaborated with Jennifer Culp, Jodi Levitz, Jorja Fleezanis, and with the Shams Ensemble.

David Wishnia (cello) performs regularly with many orchestras and chamber ensembles throughout the San Francisco Bay Area.  He is a member of the Villa Piano Trio and the Circadian String Quartet.  He holds a Masters of Music in cello from the Yale School of Music.

Samuel Barber String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op. 11

In its original form, the 2nd movement from the Samuel Barber’s String Quartet Op. 11, is primarily known in its version for string orchestra, which is incredibly powerful. The quartet version, however, lends a sense of intimacy and vulnerability to the work that is truly unique, and exposes the harmony one instrument at a time.

Here is the 2nd movement for String Quartet played by the Tokyo String Quartet.



Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: